Progression in 3D CAD

Following the last CAD session, today Mike set an activity to begin making a 3D model of a workshop vice from dimensions and step by step instructions. Mike also set us a personal task to finish the slide mechanism and paint the object with no help from him. From doing this slightly challenging exercise I have realised that I can make most objects easily from building up shapes on different planes, extruding and intruding them and chamfering edges. CAD is something which I want to build on by doing tutorials as I feel I am a lot stronger at this than sketching and will be able to communicate my ideas more effectively through CAD.

Vice

Leave a Reply

